Funded by a partnership between the Education and Training Foundation (ETF), which has a charitable objective to develop the technical education workforce, and the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851, the Technical Teaching Fellowship programme recognises, rewards, promotes and increases excellence of practice in industrial and technical education partnerships.

The Technical Teaching Fellowship Programme celebrates, develops and disseminates exceptional practice in technical teaching, to support and empower the industrial and technical expertise of the next generation. Funded fellowships enable successful applicants to develop and promote a model of professional excellence in their delivery of technical education, and for effective practice to be disseminated widely to improve the quality of technical teaching and training.

The programme encourages institutions with an excellent track record in technical and vocational education to propose Technical Teaching Fellows.

For more information and details of how to apply, please visit the ETF website direct

Fellows will:

  • receive an award of £5,000 – £15,000 to support activity and to ensure remission time is guaranteed
  • develop “Pathways to Impact” knowledge transfer activity plans, to maximise the benefit of their Fellowships
  • attend two one-day developmental workshops over the academic year
  • be allocated a programme mentor to support them for the duration of the programme
  • be expected to disseminate their work at national conferences
    contribute to the delivery of a final report, written to engage and motivate technical education in their area of practice
  • be made Fellows of the Society for Education and Training and be awarded a year’s free membership during their participation in the programme


  • Adam Hackney

  • Alison Ackroyd

  • Simon Parker

  • Rosa Wells

  • Peter Jackson

  • Ben Houlihan

  • Dr Lynda Broomhead

  • Chris Fairclough

  • Shell Fearn

  • Nicholas Hart

  • Stephen Mariadas

  • James Michael Maltby